Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Offal for dumbies page

RittenRemedy is offline Senior Member

Question Offal for dumbies

Primal Fuel
    I have only eaten liver twice in my life; once was a horrible experience for an eight year old and the second was a lucky bit of perfectly cooked liver from a street vender in Korea. I tried cooking it after that, in butter with onions, and it turned out like bloody dry oatmeal. Yeah, I think I over cooked that one. So I tried again. This one turned out like the same bloody oatmeal, but more of a soggy spongy kind.

I have been eyeing the pile of chicken livers, among other less identifiable organs, next to where I buy my pork. I'm a decent cook, but just have no clue where I really went wrong the other times. Maybe it was the cut? Or the quality (commissary brand level suspicion). I need a how to offal from the very beginning. What do I look for in buying it? Are there certain species that are better suited to different things? I don't think my cooking was off the second time, but I am craving some vitamin A, D, and K.

JoanieL is offline Senior Member
    I'm not an expert, but I've read on here that some people soak liver in milk for a day before cooking it to diminish that musky taste. You can also search this site for "Paleobird pate." Everyone who tries it seems to love it.

I don't like bloody things either, so I rinse off the liver before I put it in the pan. My go-to way to prepare liver is to saute it with onions in a good fat (coconut oil works, and for chicken liver, chicken/duck fat is awesome) - you want it a bit pink inside, so test pieces of it throughout the cooking process. If I have sweet vermouth in the house, I'll add a bit of that also.

Once done, it can go one of two ways - I either eat it hot over rice, or I put it through the food processor and chill it. Once chilled I either eat it with a fork by itself, or use something like cucumber slices as "crackers."