Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Supplementation page

Tahl is offline Junior Member

Question Supplementation

Shop Now
    Hi all,

I'm fairly new to MDA and though I did buy TPB earlier this year, I've not yet gotten through it. However, I did want to ask the community in general about supplements, which seem to go against the grain (pun?) of being Primal.

I did find a thread discussing supplements, so my questions differ from asking what you take. What I'd like to know is why do you supplement and how do (can?) you know the supplements are doing any good and aren't just a waste of money?

FWIW, back when I was in shape (I've gotten very out of shape...long story) I only supplemented with whey protein after an evening strength training workout and sometimes in the morning before going to work. I don't know if that did any good or if the extra protein just passed through me. Also, I did recently start taking a probiotic supplement at the recommendation of a doctor I trust (based on working on eliminating dairy completely from my diet), but I have no idea if the supplement is doing anything of value. Whether I'll continue it remains to be seen.

Thanks,
    Tahl

dfast is offline Member
    Vitamin D (5,000iu a day), and sometimes a concentrated fish oil.

There are people on these boards who question vitamin D suppelementation; all I know is that I've not been ill once since I started taking them. The fish oil I take occasionally, if I feel I've maybe eaten too much O6.

MeatMe216 is offline Senior Member
    i take marks advanced health formula multivitamins. I guess its just kinda insuarance. Im healthier than ive ever felt and I havent been sick since switching to primal eating. Some days I only eat moderate to no ammounts of veggies, so I do believe the vitamins help.

I take omegas to counteract high ammonts of 06 in my diet

and

i take priobiotics occasionally to keep my digestion in line

Anand Srivastava is offline Senior Member