Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Overwhelmed beginner, or how do I up fats without upping protein? page

johnthorpe is offline Junior Member

Overwhelmed beginner, or how do I up fats without upping protein?

Hey guys

I'm new to this. I started, oh Wednesday, so I've had 5 whole days of eating like a king. It's been godly. My son has never seen so much bacon cross his plate.

So far, I'm doing good with keeping carbs down. I've read enough about grains to know those evil bastards are behind a lot of issues, and as an ex-smoker, when I make up my mind to quit something, I quit.

My problems are two-fold. One, I can't figure out how much to eat. I know it's a range and it can vary, and it will probably go down as I burn off this grain gut. But, I don't know how to calculate the grams of protein and fats I need per day.

Second, I can't seem to get the protein/fat ratios anywhere near where they should be. I way overdo the protein and that seems to hold me back some. When I have a day where I'm at my protein goal, and I've had my carbs, what can I reasonably eat that will only tag up my fat numbers? I'm totally stumped.

I'm 32/male/5'9 230 lbs. Well, I was 230. I'm down 6 pounds in 5 days, which has me looking at the skinny jeans in my closet and giggling. Either way, it wasn't a football-player 230 -- i've got a grain gut and not much in the way of muscle.

To give some perspective, today I'm at ~1800 calories, 114g fat (57%), 162g protein (38%), and a whopping 22g carbs (4%). I'm also hungry and 1800 calories feels low to me. The protein feels higher than it should be.

Maybe I'm just doing it wrong, or maybe a tweak is needed. I'm new, I can stand to be corrected. In fact, I'm practically begging for it!