Thread: Still trying to slim down...feeling stuck! page

CarlyS629 is offline Junior Member

Still trying to slim down...feeling stuck!

Primal Fuel
    I've been eating primal consistently since September 2012. I didn't have any severe health issues, but I was still amazed at how good I felt by cutting out grains, beans, etc. I had more consistent energy levels, fewer cravings, and great digestion. I completed two Whole 30s in October 2012 and January 2013 and lost 3-5 lbs each time. I feel like I'm very good at keeping away from grains, beans and processed treats on a daily basis. I indulge on special occasions, but never have an "anything goes" attitude and try to keep things reigned in even when I'm letting loose. Though I feel great, I haven't dropped in size since I started eating paleo/primal. I've stayed around a 6/8, which I know is nothing to be ashamed of but I could definitely still lose some extra fat from my body. I'm 27, 5'5" and 155 lbs.

Three months ago I took up CrossFit and love it. I've gained 10 lbs of muscle and feel very fit. I was hoping consistent exercise would help me slim down, BUT I'm STILL holding on to excess fat on my waistline and thighs. If anything I feel slightly bigger since I've bulked up my muscle mass without shedding much fat.

I'm feeling frustrated! I read through Mark's plan for weight loss in the back of the Primal Blueprint. I'm trying to keep my carb intake under 100g a day, aim for about 70g of protein and the rest of my calories from fat, usually around 100g, with my daily calories around 1600. Still not seeing the results I want.

I'm asking for your help and suggestions!

I generally attend crossfit classes 4 days a week. I usually go on a hike at least once a week and try to get in some walking every day.