Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Looking for help with a reluctant spouse page

ma-judd is offline Junior Member

Looking for help with a reluctant spouse

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hello, I am fairly new to low-carb eating, but convinced it is the right thing to do. I started implementing it 2 weeks ago and am quite enthusiastic. My husband however is putting up resistance. We have 3 boys who participate in sports, and he points to all of the children we know who are doing quite well in these sports without going low-carb. In fact, many of them are eating what I would consider a high carb diet, esp processed carbs, and performing well. They are fit, talented, and healthy looking. So the question becomes, if carbs were so bad, how is it that some seem to do so well on them?

His other arguement is that anything that we have to gain by giving up carbs, is lost in the emotional trauma we are putting our kids (and him) through by denying carbs (esp special events and birthday parties, holidays, shared team snacks, etc).

Any help defending this diet, or how to make it work with kids, would be greatly appreciated - or if there is a section of this web site devoted to fending off detractors, please point me to it. Thanks!

Elizabeth

Allbeef Patty is offline Senior Member
    There are a lot of searches that you can do. Both in the forums and the blog. What I find helpful is pointing out all of the overweight diabetics at heart clinics who were athletes when they were kids.

Grol is offline Senior Member
    I resemble that remark Allbeef Patty.

Elizabeth -- you may want to search the forum for what Steve Nash eats if high performance athletes are involved. Sounds like you have your work cut out for you. Maybe a step by step process will work best with them? Cut the refined oils first. If that's a success go after the sugar. If that works. Go after the grains, which will be a big challenge, I'm sure.

jeannie is offline Junior Member