Thread: I really need some help and advice page

FireWeed is offline Junior Member

I really need some help and advice

Shop Now
    Hey everyone! This is my first time posting but I have been reading the website and lurking here for a long time. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with PCOS? My question is for my cousin, who seems very sick and was diagnosed with it a few months ago. She just turned 20 and is quite obese. The thing that alarmed me was that I saw her yesterday at a party SHE hosted and she obviously had not showered and spent most of the party sort of "slumped" at the table or on the couch. I am convinced she is depressed on top of suffering from obesity, PCOS, and insulin resistance. She is a "low information" person and I get the feeling that she does not bother to do any research into her condition. At the same time though I am sure that no 20 year old woman wants to be that way. I am torn between trying to help her since I still see her as a "kid" and minding my own business since she is technically an "adult." Our entire family has had issues with type 2 diabetes, hypoglycemia, etc - basically all the things you get from sugar. When she first got diagnosed, I tried explaining carbs and sugars to her, and she told me she was on a low carb diet and that she was eating things like "chicken and brown rice"

Has anyone had any luck explaining this stuff to someone who clearly just does not get it? Is there any hope for these people?

One part of me just wants to mind my own business, and another part of me does not want to see someone I love getting diabetes at 30.

loafingcactus is offline Senior Member
    I'd ask her if she wants to talk. Listen and engage first. If you go in with an agenda she won't listen to you (nor frankly, should she).
    “In God we trust; all others must bring data.” W. Edwards Deming
    Blogging at http://loafingcactus.com