Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need some advice/encouragement/direction...weight is going up! page

StupidFatHobbit is offline Senior Member

Need some advice/encouragement/direction...weight is going up!

Shop Now
    I need some help optimizing. So here's my story, basically...I've been eating "mostly" primal for the several years. That is to say I haven't outright banned things like brown rice, Ezekiel bread, potatoes, though I don't overdo them, but other than that I eat only real food (cook it myself), avoid processed starches, sugars, anything in a box, and vegetable oils. (Blah blah blah.) Summary: I'm mostly in that "maintenance" part of the carb. curve. This has allowed me to keep my weight in check but I haven't been able to achieve real thinness.

Every winter I put on a few pounds due to less activity (and more comfort food) and every summer I lose them, so I usually oscillate between 210 and 220 lbs. Currently 218 up from 215 earlier this month. I'm Male, 6' 1" in height so I should be down around 195lbs according to BMI charts. I'd estimate I'm 25% BF based on the various calculators and photo guides. I'd like to be down around 15% BF which would mean I need to drop 20lbs of fat and get down to 195 to 200. So I have that "dreaded" last 15 or 20 to go.

So this spring I decided to try and get serious about dealing with this. I've been following the Primal Blueprint Fitness guide and doing the weekly sprints and so on. (And enjoying those, but the first two sessions left me wrecked!) I downloaded the myfitnesspal.com app so I could start logging exactly what I'm eating and track it, and keep my carbs under 50gms...but so far since the start of June I seem to have gained 3 lbs. I suspect the exercise is making me eat more. I've experimented with the leangains IF eating window but again that seems not to have spurred any loss or if anything I've gained on it.