Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Absolute cheapest ways to eat primal? page

BuckleyFan1043 is offline Junior Member

Absolute cheapest ways to eat primal?

Primal Fuel
    So I'm a poor poor grad school student at the moment, and I've started to eat primal, while also incorporating some of the "how to eat primal on a budget" tricks I've found around here. Still finding myself spending a fair amount of money on things week to week.

So I was just curious if anyone has found any ways to go primal on a REALLY low budget. Variety isn't that important to me, I don't mind alot of repitition in my meals (as long as I'm getting everything I need) - but that's easy for breakfast (eggs, bacon, berries, done) but I haven't had much success finding dirt cheap alternatives for lunch and dinner. Mostly I have turned to just a salad or veggie stir fry or just a regular protein (steak, chicken breast, or piece of fish) with a veggie for dinner.

I'm not much of a chef unfortunately (wish I were!), so the simpler the better. But if anyone has found something that is really cheap that they eat a good bit of, lemme know, thanks!

diene is offline Senior Member
    Invest in a crockpot. Buy crappy cuts of grassfed meat (usually the tough parts) and cook them in the crockpot until tender. My favorite is to make a curry with coconut milk and curry paste and just toss in a hunk of meat. Forget about it for a couple of hours and then eat! That said, grassfed meat is still crazy expensive, regardless of what cut you buy. I could never afford it when I was in school.

Unicorn is offline Senior Member
    Soups: Buy a whole chicken, and roast for dinner one night. Eat on salad for lunch the next day. Throw the carcass in a pot and make a bone broth.

Eat local and seasonal. Don't try to buy berries in the dead of winter, but enjoy some apples or pears. Seek out the farmer's markets and buy as much produce there as possible.