Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Cutting" vs. "bulking" -- mutually exclusive? page

Bagwell is offline Junior Member

"Cutting" vs. "bulking" -- mutually exclusive?

Primal Fuel
    I'm confused. Does it always have to be one or the other? Is it not possible to consume, say, 2000 calories of largely fats/protein and still gain lean muscle mass (read: "bulking") while losing body fat? It seems all the aficionados in various body building/fitness forums (e.g., reddit/r/fitness) suggest that you need to focus on one and not the other. I'm curious what you all think, and what has your personal experience shown you?

I'm 5'9", approx 185 lbs, probably about 20% BF, and I'm relatively new to the Stronglifts 5x5 world. I've been making some excellent gains in all my lifts this month while eating a ton of fats/proteins (largely steak and eggs). I'd like to cut down on my body fat but I'm worried that I'll stop making progress on my lifting. I'm probably consuming 2600-3000 calories per day right now. Like indicated above, if I dropped down to ~2000 calories, would I then be "cutting" without expectations of lean muscle growth?
    "Do or do not. There is no try." -- Yoda

Greenbeast is offline Senior Member
    i'm currently increasing my strength and losing body fat at the same time. That's not to say that either activity wouldn't be better accomplished on it's own, but i'm not interested in waiting for one phase to end.

I lost the bulk of my body fat by initially going paleo. I then felt it was time to get back into resistance training after a few years off

RichMahogany is online now Senior Member
    It's possible to add muscle mass while losing fat, but it's damn hard. You can get from point A to point B by hopping on one foot, backwards, blindfolded, but it's not the easiest way.

wolfman is offline Senior Member