Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intermittent fasting for women page

Lady Macchiato is offline Junior Member

Intermittent fasting for women

Primal Fuel
    Hi!
    So I know this topic has been lightly covered but I'm struggling to find a concise answer even on google scholar search.
    Basically, I've been eating primal for just under 8 months now, and I feel fantastic.

I'm currently backpacking in Spain with some friends, and we've found it most convenient to just eat a massive breakfast (bacon, greens, steamed broccoli, eggs, maybe an apple, and whatever other delicious fatty meat and veg is available) and then explore and inadvertently fast for the rest of the day.

Does anyone know if this might wreck havoc on one's glucose tolerance/general health as a woman who is seemingly sufficiently fat-adapted?
    I feel great upon doing so, but I don't want to accidentally jeopardize hormonal balances or the like.

Any opinions from personal experience or theorization is much appreciated!

Thanks a bunch,

Jenny

dkJames is offline Senior Member
    Hey there, I envy you and your trip to come!!
    About fasting, I would say this (not sure it applies to women but):
    - when you wake up in the morning (assuming you sleep at night), you run on fat and I am sure you know that. This should give you ample energy for the rest of the day if you hike and walk a lot. If you had eaten carbs in the evening the day before, your glycogen store should be OK if you have to add occasional bursts of high intensity activity. Eating should be for repair and replenishing your energy store so I would rather eat in the evening (early enough though, not just before bed time) and then sleep soundly with a body full of nutrients that can be used for recovery during sleep time.

That's my take on fasting and one meal a day, which I am full adapted to regardless of activity.