Thread: grassfed meat page

reamz is offline Senior Member

grassfed meat

Primal Fuel
    hi, this is my first post to the forums, though ive been a reader of marksdailyapple for a couple of months now...just to introduce myself i am a 19year old med student (1st year) in london, with a huge interest in nutrition....i was led to paleo after first changing my diet to low carb (couple of years ago), then discovering paleo, and then the weston price foundation, so now my diet is paleo/primal, mostly just meat + organs, with a little raw dairy now and then, and when in season

Anyway, to my question!
    For the past year or so ive been eating most of my meat from a farm who feed their animals some grain during the winter (in addition to hay/silage etc) and are grass fed and grass finished in the spring/summer. Some of my meat has been from 100%grass fed animals, but since the farmers market where i got that meat is a bit of a trek to get to, i've mostly been sticking to the one producer.
    Well, now im thinking maybe i should go 100% grass fed (i found some more producers who are at farmers markets that are a lil easier to get to), especially since i dont eat much veg and rely on the meat and organs to get most of my nutrition...
    i'm quite sure i will go for 100% grass fed now, but am a lil worried that the past 2 years or so of carnivorous eating as not been optimal

what do you think?

are there any studies/data comparing nutrient profiles of 100% grass fed meat versus mostly grassfed meat thats fed some grain in the winter?

thanks

UpNorth is offline Junior Member
    Why worry about the past? Do what's right for your future and be happy.

reamz is offline Senior Member
    true, true, but im still interested
    i mean, it's be nice to know the difference during those times i can't get 100% grass fed meat...i mean, how much better is the described alternative to grain finished meat...

Mike Alzen is offline Senior Member