Thread: Help me figure this out! page

Sheldoneousk is offline Junior Member

Help me figure this out!

Shop Now
    I am having an issue at work. I am a mental health therapist and so a chair is kind of a tool of the trade. However, over the past few weeks (and a dramatic increase in caseload) I have been forced to sit more than usual and it is taking its toll on my back.

I work out 3-4 days a week and always include mobilization a la Kelly Starrett. I take frequent walks in between clients and do some stretching as well. In fact I also have my own pseudo standing workstation that I can pull out on days where I have to bust out paperwork.

So here is my issue. I can't do therapy standing ( I see both children and adults so I do get down on the floor from time to time) and sitting is killing me. Part of the issue is seating I think. I have a crappy chair. I asked my work for a new one that was all ergonomical and such and they gave me gruff and actually wanted a doctors note. I would like a legitimate standing desk but I cannot afford that on my own. So given my job and situation I was hoping some of you might be able to help me figure out a solution?

Has anyone else ran into this issue? Any suggestions on how to approach admin?

j3nn is offline Senior Member
    Can you bring in your own chair or one of those balance balls to sit on?
    | My (food) Blog | Follow me on Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter |

It does not take a majority to prevail, but rather an irate, tireless minority, keen on setting brushfires of freedom in the minds of men. - Samuel Adams

kenn is offline Senior Member
    Starting Date: Dec 18, 2010
    Starting Weight: 294 pounds
    Current Weight: 235 pounds
    Goal Weight: 195 pounds

Quote Originally Posted by j3nn View Post
    Can you bring in your own chair or one of those balance balls to sit on?
    I'm considering my own chair and have thought about using a ball as well...I might just have to try it