Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Excess meat and acid/base balance - does it work ? page

Martini is offline Member

Excess meat and acid/base balance - does it work ?

Primal Fuel
    Hey guys,

Im new to the Primal Blueprint concept, for the two weeks I have been trying it out I have achieved
    pretty good results already. So its really appreciated and I like how the information given on the site is
    backed up by scientific research.

However im thinking about one aspect that irritates me, that on the one hand the problem and importance
    of acid/base balance is mentioned in the book and on the other hand there is no warning that excessiv meat consume has a very negativ effect on that balance.

From the information that I have on the topic Fish is about half as bad as meet (except chicken) for the acid/base balance. Furthermore Fish is much better in Omega3 and VitaminD3 also. So from my point of view it would make sense to strongly advocate not to go all meat or close in the meat/fish/egg group. Yet there is no such advice.

I wonder why that is respectively if my information on the topic is flawed in some way.

namelesswonder is offline Senior Member
    There is no warning that excessive meat could have a negative effect on that balance because it really has no effect. I can't speak to any reference of acid/base balance in the book because I don't remember it.

Acid/Base Balance as it Relates to Osteoporosis | Dr. Loren Cordain
    I think this kind of explains it.

In short, unless you have osteoperosis, you probably don't need to worry about this.
    Journal on depression/anxiety
    Currently trying to figure out WTF to eat (for IBS-C).

MEversbergII is offline Senior Member
    Oh, the acid body / alkaline body thing was big a few years back. I guess he's following up that angle. Not everyone's been given contrary evidence yet.

M.

eKatherine is offline Senior Member