Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: im a college student trying to eat primal. my parents dont agree, help! page

troubledstudent is offline Junior Member

im a college student trying to eat primal. my parents dont agree, help!

first off i love this site. It's amazing.

- i'm in college
    - i just got my own place, and finally started eating primal
    - i need meat, so i'm looking for bulk grass-fed beef (in vancouver, if anyone has a good source let me know!)
    - my parents still support me and give me money for food. which makes it hard for me to get bulk grass fed as they don't support the idea of me buying a lot of beef and keeping it in a chest freezer for some stupid reason!
    - my mom says: you don't need to focus on food so much, just exercise, said getting a "meat locker" is going too far
    and my dad doesn't believe meat is healthy. when i brought up paleo he said no, this book is the truth on nutrition:

Amazon.com: The Fat Fallacy: The French Diet Secrets to Permanent Weight Loss (9781400049196): Will Clower: Books

which basically says saturated fat isnt bad, but if it comes from meat, it is.

any ideas what to do? what is the best way to prove that paleo/primal (plus safe starches, in my opinion) is the healthy way to eat? to prove that -this- is what science is pointing to?
    Last edited by troubledstudent; 06-09-2013 at 10:49 PM.

ilovesteak is offline Senior Member
    If you're going to college I assume that you're 18 yo or above. So what's the problem here? You're an adult and can make your own decisions on how and what you eat without your parents approval. Is it because they provide you with food money that they feel they can hold your nutritional choices hostage? If so, return their money and go get a part time job to pay for your food expenses.

Fantazmic is offline Member
    Just say 'yes mum no mum three bags four mum'

In other words agree with them for peace and do what you want.