Thread: Hello from UK page

MaceyUK is offline Senior Member

Hello from UK

Shop Now
    Hi all,
    I have been following the site for ages and eating paleo at first and now more primal for a year. I am from the UK as the title suggests and I am a Biology teacher and amateur athlete. I am evangelical about nutrition and do lots of self-experimenting (after research). In two weeks I am running a trail marathon on very low carb. Last week I managed 21 miles in 3hrs in a totally carb depleted state. I have done a few half-marathons in a train low run higher state and done ok. Has anyone done a sub 4 hr trail without carbs? This is a one off experiment and I plan to reintroduce a few sweet potatoes after the race.I am aware that it would probably be beneficial to have a bit of sugary gunk in the system but I'm trying to prove a point

awok677 is offline Senior Member
    Best of luck with the marathon! I take it the point, if proved, will be underlined in the classroom? Kudos!
    Me, My Father and The Alzheimer's - http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread84213.html

Somebody has to tell them that pasta isn't sports nutrition! Currently slurping down a 400ml glass of beetroot juice before my long run. It's supposed to have a pronounced and noticeable effect on oxygen consumption. N=1 for the win

awok677 is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by MaceyUK View Post
    N=1 for the win

also - I bet you've got nice red lips and tongue now ...
    Me, My Father and The Alzheimer's - http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread84213.html

10 Bears is offline Member
    I've never run a marathon but I have done some prolonged hill climbs in the lakes after several days of zero carb - perhaps a little 'survivalist' but again did it to push myself to a fatigue limit as an 'experiment'.