Thread: How to fill out meals for picky kids? page

ayumi is offline Member

How to fill out meals for picky kids?

Shop Now
    My husband and I have figured out how to fill out our primal meals with one meat and one vegetable. Problem is, our kids have issues with vegetables and I'm not experienced enough yet to know which recipes will satisfy their palate.

Trying to imitate foods that they are used to does not work (e.g. gluten-free bread) so it needs to be something a little different. It's been frustrating having recipe after recipe fail so hopefully more experienced folks can help out?

Are there recipes that you've tried that works with kids or uses vegetables that aren't too green?

For example: my husband and I have our hot dogs with spinach salad, and occasionally potato fries. The kids eat their hot dogs with wheat buns. What can I make that will give the hot dogs a yummy vehicle? Other meats we've had are coconut chicken fingers and steak, as examples.

j3nn is offline Senior Member
    If your kids don't like veggies, offer them fruit instead. Don't force it. Do not put them on a low-carb regimen; growing children need and can use the carbs. Sweet potatoes, white potatoes, white rice (and rice pasta), fruit, milk, and anything else they typically like. There is no reason for most children to be on a strict meat and vegetable diet.
    | My (food) Blog | Follow me on Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter |

“It does not take a majority to prevail, but rather an irate, tireless minority, keen on setting brushfires of freedom in the minds of men.” - Samuel Adams

Annieh is online now Senior Member
    Most kids like carrots, you can do them several ways, eg raw grated, steamed then drizzled with butter, mashed together with potato.

I think they can also learn to like roast veges such as pumpkin or kumara (sweet potato). You can cut them into wedges, chips or even small cubes for a change.