Thread: Paleo and Depression page

twofer01 is offline Junior Member

Paleo and Depression

Primal Fuel
    Hello all...I am new to Paleo and to this site.
    I have been on Paleo now for 3 weeks and feel great! Well, almost. I have lost 7 pounds of those "hard to lose" pounds. A little about myself - I have been very active working out for the last 15 months and have lost 40 pounds. I am now working on bulking up and building muscle (coming along nicely!!). I work out 4-5 times per week, sometimes more. About 4 months ago I went off Lexapro that I had been taking for the last 5 years. I have been doing very well without it - at least until week 2 of the diet. It seems that a lot of the anxiety and depression have returned as well as some of the prior stomach issues that I had in the past. I have been reading about serotonin levels and how diet affects these levels.

My question is...what suggestions do you have to help me get over these panic/attacks, depression without going back on medication (FYI...I have spoken with my DR and he is monitoring in the event he feels I need to go back on the meds). I have read some that I need to add more carbs. One article said to add lentils - high in protein and carbs.

I am somewhat confused because serotonin is contradictory - good balance of serotonin results from lower protein and higher carbs - kind of the opposite of what I am trying to do with building muscle.

My diet is good. I am following Paleo for Athletes plan and allowing some carbs pre/post workouts.

Your suggestions would be helpful. Sorry about rambling. I really want this to work and work naturally without going back on meds.

Thanks,

Robert

DCarr10760 is offline Senior Member
    Hi Robert,

I am no expert on what foods to eat to avoid depression, but I do know a thing or 2000 about depression, and after being on antidepressants for so long, being off of them for four months may not be really long enough to be really stable. Give it more time.