Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Vegetarian diet on days when you can't afford quality meat? page

miniGrokette is offline Member

Vegetarian diet on days when you can't afford quality meat?

Primal Fuel
    I'm a full-time student without the means to finance a yummy, perfect diet. I eat meat nearly every day. Trader Joe's has some affordable organic meats, but even that I can't do all the time. Would it be better to spend a few days a week eating a vegetarian diet than to eat lower quality meat from, say, Publix? If so, are there any suggestions for foods to eat on those days? How do vegetarians stay full? I can't see just veggies doing the trick!

Thanks for all the great responses. I don't meat every day because I have to. I just really love all varieties of meat and seafood and find them very filling. I love eggs, sweet potatoes, bananas, and cottage cheese... maybe those things will be sufficient enough! Also, canned, wild fish was an great suggestion. You guys are awesome.
    Last edited by miniGrokette; 06-03-2013 at 06:35 PM.

Kochin is offline Senior Member
    Part-time vegetarian works fine. Eat good eggs (try and get 50g of protein a day, but bear in mind your personal minimum may be higher [*even], mine is 90g). Tubers and butter for main energy. Fruit for breakfast, leafy greens to fill-up.
    Last edited by Kochin; 06-04-2013 at 02:50 AM.
    --
    Perfection is entirely individual. Any philosophy or pursuit that encourages individuality has merit in that it frees people. Any that encourages shackles only has merit in that it shows you how wrong and desperate the human mind can get in its pursuit of truth.

--
    I get blunter and more narcissistic by the day.
    I'd apologize, but...

kathleen is offline Senior Member
    I recently ate at a vegetarian restaurant. I was more full than I have been since I ate pasta. How do they stay full? They simply eat huge portions. I was served an entire yam as appetizer, and and a huge plate for an entree.