Thread: Jessica's Primal Journal page

JessicaRunner is offline Junior Member

Jessica's Primal Journal

Shop Now
    Hello all,

It's time for me to bite the bullet and just start journaling. I need something to hold me accountable. I started primal eating about a month ago and stick to it ~80% of the time. No significant weight changes or change in body composition. I will wait another month before I go in for hydrostatic testing.

A little about me: I am a distance runner and run several marathons/ultras per year. In fact, I have an ultra tomorrow morning. If you've heard of the group Marathon Maniacs, I am one of them. My goal for this year is to Boston qualify again, so I can run it in 2011 or 2012. I have a goal race in September that will hopefully be my ticket.

I also teach Turbo Kick 2-3x per week, which is a form of highly choreographed kickboxing. On top of that, I am a beachbody coach and routinely do programs like P90X, Chalean Extreme, and Insanity, to name a few. Currently, I am ending week 5 of P90X and definitely feel the strength gains.

I've struggled with my weight most of my life. Last year, even though I was running all the time, my weight kept creeping up along with my % bodyfat. I saw an endocrinologist and my levels were normal. I watched calories and did my best to follow a conventional "healthy" diet. I finally broke through my weight gain by changing up my workouts, dropping my BC pill and having shakeology for breakfast everyday. Since last July, I've lost about 15 lbs. The scale really hasn't budged for several months now and I fear I've hit a plateau. I'm still carrying extra weight, but I hope to convert that from fat to muscle in due time.

Starting today, I will post my daily menu. I plan to have a few extra carbs for tomorrow's ultra. Here it goes:

Breakfast:
    (pre-workout) apple with tbsp almond butter
    (post-workout) Protein smoothie