Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What exactly IS a good fasting blood sugar level? page

mdale2 is offline Member

What exactly IS a good fasting blood sugar level?

Primal Fuel
    Out of sheer curiosity, I started testing my blood sugar levels fasted (first thing in the morning) and also 1-2 hours postprandial.

Morning, fasted tested at 5 AM before workout - 65-70 range
    Postprandial (primal meal) - 75-85
    Postprandial (carby meal - white potatoes included) - 95-105
    For fun, 2 hrs after a piece of cake and ice cream - 106
    Morning after said piece of cake - 94

Is that normal or low for fasted blood sugar? That seems crazy low after the cake. I'm a bit of a nOOb at this.

those numbers are great, shows your pancreas is doing well and your insulin is being used well too. Your numbers 15 minutes after eating cake would probably be much higher, but for 2 hours that's good.

My morning BG is 80-85 and my husband who is on an insulin pump, is usually around 100-110.
    my Primal Journal: Journal

my FitDay: FitDay

fxdwgmikeb is offline Senior Member
    Cw says normal fasting blood sugar levels are 70-120 mg/dL. My Latest fasting level was 77. I am no expert but your levels look normal to me.

mdale2 is offline Member
    Yeah that's most of the reason I raised the question - CW's recommended fasting levels are higher than mine normally are.

MalPaz is offline Senior Member
    WOW i cant believe your post cake level was so low! have a lot of people been tracking their blood suagr? i'd like to knwo what sets it off for some people. i read about physiological blood sugar spikes even in people who ate a rib eye and was intrigued at what the body can do blood sugar wise.

who all tracks and what are your results?

fxdwgmikeb is offline Senior Member
    According to Web MD (I know its CW, but I don't see much about low blood sugar here)
    http://diabetes.webmd.com/how-sugar-affects-diabetes