Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Candida vs Paleo page

lashes86 is offline Junior Member

Candida vs Paleo

Shop Now
    Hi all!

This is my first time posting so bare with me! I've been suffering from systemic Candida for approximately 2 years now. The first time my Naturopath put me on a cleanse, all my symptoms cleared up. Some of my symptoms included: bloating, gas, acne, eczema, weight gain, dry skin, fatigue... I've been cleansing on and off ever since, however I have still stuck to the diet that was provided to me: no yeast, sugar, vinegar, dairy, etc. Also, might I mention, part of the cleansing phase includes a lot of supplements. I'd like to think I eat pretty well. However, this time around my Candida is being VERY stubborn. I am wondering if maybe I should drop all grains? Currently I eat: oats, rice, quinoa, rye bread (yeast, sugar free). I haven't seen a correlation between eating grains and my bloating/gas. Sometimes I eat veggies and I bloat. I don't know if anyone has experience with Candida or Paleo in general that would help me with this.

Thanks!
    Valerie

namelesswonder is offline Moderator
    Absolutely, yes, drop the grains.

I have found that the more you "cleanse", the worse it can get. Personally, going more of a Perfect Health Diet route (google it) was the most beneficial. I did tons of supplements and it only got worse after I was done, especially if I slipped up and had even the smallest amount of refined sugar.

If you are experiencing bloat with veggies, you might want to look into low stomach acid. Episode 15 – Dr. Paul Jaminet on chronic infections, depression & more
    What Everybody Ought To Know (But Doesn’t) About Heartburn & GERD
    Supplementing HCL with betaine and digestive enzymes is probably a good idea. It is likely that the route of your problems are "simple": poor digestion, but what exactly is causing that may take some work to figure out. Low stomach acid? Gut permeability?