Thread: Swimming?? page

bride2be is offline Junior Member

Swimming??

Hi all!! I'm kinda new to primal (may 1st)
    For years I haven't exercised so am trying to change that. I'm terrible at going to the gym and hate cardio (glad that's not advised!!) I love to swim and was wondering if that's ok?
    I had been doing 2km in 1hr most days a week but now thinking it may be too cardio, should I just try swim faster and only for 1hr?
    Help

RichMahogany is online now Senior Member
    I have no idea how fast you're going if you do 2 km in one hour (I mean, I do. It's 2km/hr. I just don't know what that looks/feels like in the water), but I think swimming lends itself less to chronic cardio than treadmills or running. If that's a pretty easy pace, you can definitely keep doing it as part of "move frequently at a slow pace." You can also use it for "sprint once in a while" but you'd need to either just do all-out laps interspersed with rest or interspersed with very easy laps. And of course, it can be "Play."

Use it in whatever way's most fun for you (or all of them). Just make sure you're not pushing yourself into the chronic cardio zone for hours every week.

dacec is offline Senior Member
    I think you are fine. I swim as well, a little more than that 3x per week in a masters program (coach + other swimmers).

I always make it a point to stay at the rear of my line and do not push myself beyond what is comfortable, aside from occasional sprints. I know I can go much faster but that gets my heart rate up higher than I want it, so I take the slow and comfortable approach. I love it and I feel great so I know it is a good fit for me.

rusty1257 is offline Junior Member
    Swimming is low impact, so easy on the joints. Once a swimmer has decent technique the heart rate achieved is much lower than running or even biking, unless sprinting.