Thread: Primal Journal: Seasoned page

Seasoned is offline Junior Member

Primal Journal: Seasoned

Primal Fuel
    16 May 2013

I'm in the planning stage so here goes...

I joined Weight Loss Resources last year in order to lose weight and get in shape. Everything was going fine and then I stopped smoking. The binges on sugar started - well basically anything that was high fat, high carb, processed junk. I've gained quite a bit of weight and some health problems too.

When I was on the site, there was a member who looked amazing and she mentioned 'Paleo' and Mark's Daily Apple. I was quite shocked when I first had a look and baffled! My degree is in Sports and Exercise. I am now studying an MSc in Health Research and this just flew in the face of what I had been taught.

So I did some digging. First stop - Native American Indians and Eskimos - they were the most recent hunter gatherers that I knew anything about. And there it was; Smithsonian Institute - detailing the low carb, high protein diet along with the infamous tales of how healthy the tribes were except...

The ones on corn who apparantly had cavities, shorter stature and more health problems.

I'm still not sure about it all, that is to say, where to start. I have just bought Marks book along with one by Rob Wolf. I've made a list of food that I could eat and I've started to journal my current intake which is not good.

I've chosen next week to start and I am very nervous.

Current weight is 10 stone 12.5 1bs at 5'1 - 36% B/F
    Underactive thyroid
    Swollen ankles
    Afternoon bloating
    Dry skin
    Tiredness
    Muscles locking in legs when walking

17 May 2013

For some reason I seem to be panicking and eating more sugar/junk/overeating. I think it's the fear of change. I mean I'm excited but there is that sense of 'Can I do this?'