Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Terrified of CrossFit page

KotikBegemotik is offline Senior Member

Terrified of CrossFit

Primal Fuel
    Hi Folks!

I'm considering doing a month of CrossFit. however some of the stories are scaring the crap out of me. I'm not exactly in great shape, not at all...and then I hear about people wiping blood, sweat, tears, and vomit off the floor after their workout and I get kinda terrified.

Any folks who started out in CrossFit as complete beginners who could share their experiences?

Thank you so much!
    "Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts."-Winston Churchill

"Keep Calm and Carry On"-British Wartime Poster

"Don't Panic"
    -H2G2

magnolia1973 is offline Senior Member
    I started a month ago and love it. I have yet to see anyone puke or bleed. I imagine if you push yourself to be competitive timewise that you may very well puke or bleed.

The cross section of people at my box ranges from middle age women like me, out of shape to very fit men and women. When I do a WOD, I am not coming anywhere near the times that the fit people get, but no one cares or says anything and everyone is very nice. They do a good job helping with the movements and offer opportunities to scale back on the weights with no judgement. 90% of the time I am unaware of what other people are doing.

As I do the WOD's I can see where an overzealous beginner could get hurt but at least at my box, no one wants you flailing around more weight than you can handle. Oh yes, they will let you take for ever to do a ton of push ups without telling you "it's OK, you can stop", but they are also quick to hand you a lighter weight if needed or direct you to ring rows if you can't do a pull up.