Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Adjusting to fewer meals per day- any tips? page

AMC
    AMC is offline Senior Member

Adjusting to fewer meals per day- any tips?

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to primal and i'm the classic hypoglycemic, 6 mini meals per day person. I have trouble going more than 2-3 hours without eating. I want to switch to fewer meals per day (3 is realistic for now), but i'm obviously still running on sugar because I crash If I go too long (even if my last meal was big).

Does anyone have tips on how to transition? Should I let myself snack or should I go cold turkey to 3 meals and let my blood sugar drop in between until it adjusts to the new diet? Anyone go through this before?

eKatherine is offline Senior Member
    Where do you stand on daily calories and macros? Are you trying to lose weight?

AMC
    AMC is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by eKatherine View Post
    Where do you stand on daily calories and macros? Are you trying to lose weight?
    Yes, trying to lose weight. I have hypothyroid also. I maintain on 2100-2000 cal (which is what i'm eating for now while I adjust to primal eating). I have fat at 100 +g, protein ~130-140g, and carbs 150ish

magicmerl is offline Senior Member
    Eat more fat with your meals. For me, I particularly had to have a fatty fried breakfast to not get hungry during the day.
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.
    TQP: I find for me that nutrition is much more important than what I do in the gym.
    bloodorchid is always right

firetiger is offline Senior Member