Thread: Sugar is taking over! page

ErinF is online now Senior Member

Sugar is taking over!

Primal Fuel
    I am having the hardest time with sugar lately. I never crave sugar, but lately it's all I think about. I recently started doing NerdFitness barbell training and doing a simple running program (C25K) and that seems to have triggered it. The problem is I'm a noob @ nutrition when it comes adding in exercise and lifting.

Right now I'm eating about about 1600 calories, 80g protein, 100g carbs and the rest fat.

Maybe my ratios need tweaking, but I have no idea what to change to help me with sugar cravings. If I go too low carb I go into full on binge mode.

upupandaway is offline Senior Member
    I tentatively suggest that you're not eating enough overall - sounds like a lot of activity for 1600kcal per day.

A common recommendation is to add more carbs into your post workout meal - maybe try that as a starting point?

magnolia1973 is offline Senior Member
    Try more protein. I eat about 120-140 grams of protein on lifting days, then up my carbs to 120-150 on cardio days.

That seems to keep me well fueled and have not had cravings or hunger. I'm doing Crossfit, going on the 3 days a week that are mainly lifting, and one day a week that is cardio. I eat around 1600-1800 calories day. Not much scale lost, but inches lost this month.

I think for some people, more activity requires more carbs and protein and the high fat doesn't work as well. You just need to experiment and see what works for you.

http://maggiesfeast.wordpress.com/
    Check out my blog. Hope to share lots of great recipes and ideas!

Richard Seekins is offline Senior Member
    Have some alternative suger in the form of fruit, I have honey on greek yogurt every day
    Caution! My replies may contain traces of nuts!. My posts are just my opinion based on my experience with the primal way of life, there is no assurance it will work with others in the same way.