Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ironman Training page

idropboys is offline Junior Member

Ironman Training

Shop Now
    I am new to the "Primal Diet" After just completing my 5th Ironman with great success and qualifying for the World Championships in Kona I am looking for a competitive edge. I (think) understand the basics of the diet and the goal train my body to burn fat, which there is a great supply, vs glycogen. Which in 10-11 hour race will give me more efficient fueling.

I am only a week into this and have give up all bread, pasta etc Processed foods were a minor part of my diet so that was not hard to give up.

I am recovering from my race so have been doing minimal training but my questions lie in how to fuel for longer training.

Tomorrow I swim for an hour followed by a 2 hour ride- this is still low HR but within weeks I will be logging 5-6 hour rides. I have previously fueled with a lot of carbs so I am curious how to approach tomorrow- I'll start there- ie: what to eat pre/during and post?

I am excited to take this journey but am not eager to compromise training and start bonking!

thanks

bro0kiebaby is offline Member
    Yesterday is History
    Tomorrow's a Mystery ~ Today is a Gift...
    That is why they call it THE PRESENT

bro0kiebaby is offline Member
    ....or if you prefer, a femal IronMan...(Pepper Pots aka Hera)

For MOTIVATION!!
    Yesterday is History
    Tomorrow's a Mystery ~ Today is a Gift...
    That is why they call it THE PRESENT

fishin-frog is offline Member