I'm a truck driver--sedentary job--who's trying to go primal. I'm way overweight, and new DOT regulations are going to put an end to my career if that doesn't change. I tried to make the change a couple months ago, but I broke my wrist, can't prepare food, etc., so I put it on hold. Actually, I've been sitting around eating whatever I want and getting fatter. But I'm going back to work next week, going to resume preparing food, etc., and I need some ideas of what to eat for lunch.

Here's the deal. I make several stops per day, running all local. I drive a short distance, get unloaded, which takes 30-60 minutes, drive back for another load, and repeat. The only exercise I get is dropping a trailer and hooking up the next one, which I do 4 times per shift.

So, lunch... Lunch is eaten while being unloaded. It always used to be a sandwich, some fruit, yogurt, whatever. Of course, bread and the yogurt will be out. I ate those things because my ability to eat in the truck is somewhat limited. I can eat something with a spoon or fork, but realistically only one thing and not something I would have to cut.

As the summer sets in, I'm not going to want a lot of hot food. So gazpacho is on my list for at least one night a week, and if I have a few different recipes, I suppose it could be two nights. I ate lettuce wraps for a while and got tied of them pretty fast, so unless I come up with some awesome new recipe, I'll probably only eat them once a week. So that's 3 cold/cool meals a week, 2 if I get tired of gazpacho and eat it once a week.

I love steamed broccoli with butter sauce, but I've always hated raw broccoli and cauliflower, not too crazy about most raw vegetables.

Whatever I end up making, I plan to cook all meals on the weekend, running a slow cooker, oven, toaster oven, stove top, whatever it takes, then freeze and use them throughout the week as necessary.