Thread: Supplements (specifically magnesium and calcium) page

jtuwiner is offline Junior Member

Supplements (specifically magnesium and calcium)

Primal Fuel
    I'm a college student and don't believe I'm getting the proper amount of magnesium in my diet. I also believe i have many symptoms of magnesium deficiency.

My only question is, what is the best kind of magnesium supplement to buy? And do you need to take it with calcium?

I've searched for answers but have yet to find a good one. I'd like to hear from some of you about your experience with this.

Hedonist2 is offline Senior Member
    I normally take 200 mg magnesium citrate. Any more and I have loose stools. Any less and I have allergies and trouble sleeping. If pollen is bad, I take more with no problems.
    Ancestral Health Info - My blog about Primal and the general ancestral health movement. Site just remodeled using HTML5/CSS3 instead of Wordpress.

PrimalJason is offline Junior Member
    I take Magnesium Malate. Source Naturals brand from Amazon at about $9. No side effects.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0013R...d_hpc_img?vs=1

Lewis is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by jtuwiner View Post
    I'm a college student and don't believe I'm getting the proper amount of magnesium in my diet. I also believe i have many symptoms of magnesium deficiency.
    It's unlikely you are, because it tends to be depleted in soil, owing to use of PNK fertlizers rather than manure for fertlizing fields. Measurements on common vegetables across the years apparently show a steady decline in the content of several minerals (including this one) since WWII, when intensive farming really got going. Stress also tends to deplete it from your body, and contemporary life is stressful.

There's an article at the WAPF site on some of these issues. As I recall this one isn't by a scientist and doesn't seem rigorous throughout, but it would be worth looking out and reading: