Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Women...is there a need for potatoes for fertility health?

Hybrid View

Women...is there a need for potatoes for fertility health?

How many of you require potatoes or some starch for your menstrual cycle and hormones? Is it possible to have a healthy cycle without starch? Several paleo sites like paleo for women say you need it. Others say you don't. I wish there was a good answer besides more experimentation.

I have no personal experience. I have read some research indicating that fat was important for fertility. But I have never read anything about carbs in that respect.

I've been under 100 gm carbs for the last 3 years of Primal eating. Regular cycles, and I just turned 50 years old. In fact, all of my perimenopausal symptoms disappeared on Primal. I eat potatoes occasionally, but I feel better on lower carbs.

I do make sure to eat lots of nutrient-dense foods like grass-fed red meat, liver, free-range eggs, wild-caught seafood, and hard cheese as well as bone broth. I eat 60-70% fat from pastured lard, butter and coconut oil as well as fattier cuts of meat.

Making sure my D3 level is on the high end of sufficiency (almost 80 ng/ml) ensures that I have the precursors necessary for hormonal balance. I also supplement krill oil and Magnesium.

Here's a blog post I wrote that may be helpful:

Optimum Fertility ~ Nutrition - Sondra Rose: Happy Mind
    Last edited by Dragonfly; 04-27-2013 at 11:26 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Dragonfly View Post
    I've been under 100 gm carbs for the last 3 years of Primal eating. Regular cycles, and I just turned 50 years old. In fact, all of my perimenopausal symptoms disappeared on Primal. I eat potatoes occasionally, but I feel better on lower carbs.