Thread: Accidental Grokking... page

Frank of Denmark is offline Junior Member

Accidental Grokking...

Shop Now
    Hi, everybody.
    I am new to the primal way of living, and i have just started easing into this way of life. I have been struggling with my weight for more than a decade, but recently there have been quite a bit of change for the better. In January, my weight was 117 kg. The first thing i did, was ditching cola, and drinking carbonated water when the urge hit me. I hoped it would be easier to substitute a stupid harmful habit with something less harmful, and i was right. Now, I have ditched carbonated water as well. In february, i saw a documentary on BBC about intermittent fasting. I was very surprised, the results was quite contrary to conventional wisdom. I decided to try a 24-hour fast, just to see how it would feel. The test subject in the documentary did experience some discomfort, thererfore i was anxiously awaiting 24 hours of constant obsessing about food. Well, that did not happen. In fact, i did not experience any significant discomfort. Whenever the thought "i am hungry" popped up, i would think to myself; " I know,stomach, and you can have something. Help yourself to those lovehandles right there.Knock yourself out, son! . On my last fasting day(monday) i decided to up my game, and do a 8 mile paddle in my kayak at the end of the day. I brought a bit of water, and some mild anxiety about the impending blood sugar crash with me. The last 4 miles would be paddled against a 15 m/sec headwind. To my surprise, i did not experience any sugar crash or decline of energy levels.
    I have been following a basic diet for several years, and it was initially succesful. Back then i did not yet own a car, and my job was not as sedentiary as my present job. The plan works fine, the problem was my increasingly stupid eating habits and my declining activity levels. At this moment in time my meals are set up like this: