Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The 30 minute rule! AKA Nutrient timing page

tone2423 is offline Junior Member

The 30 minute rule! AKA Nutrient timing

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I am new to PB and have a question about post workout recovery meals.

CW ( in this case, sports nutrition books) will always recommend high glycemic foods immediately following high intense workouts (no more than 30 minutes) to replenish your muscle and liver glycogen stores. This rule is

But, PB says that staying with low glycemic food is the way to go.

So my question is...how do I properly fuel my body after an athletic event (a game) or workout??

My second question would probably be...is just consuming the correct amount of protein enough? since my insulin levels are primed from my diet, and I don't need a high glycemic food to boost insulin for faster transportation, should I just stay within the PB rules?

I might have answered my own question but I would love to hear or read what everyone thinks.

Thanks!!

mjoshuahill is offline Member
    Unless your workout is so extreme as to completely exhaust all your glucose stores than I imagine that some fruit would be more than enough to top you back up again.
    It is sad that the measuring stick of our progress is the speed by which we distance ourselves from the natural world. Even sadder is that we will only see this when there is no nature left to save.

As1459 is offline Junior Member
    ^^^^^ As I understand it unless you a.) need to play another game/workout a second time later in the day or b.) play another game the next day/workout hard again the next day then the pwo carb isn't as important. Alan aragon has said that basically stated that the low gi/high gi is irrelevant and choose whatever carb source you prefer.

According to cw you should avoid fat pwo (stunts insulin) but pb states otherwise so I'm curious about what people have to say about including fats pwo.

KXS
    KXS is offline Member