Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to primal, but love love love craft ales page

Timbobaggins is offline Junior Member

New to primal, but love love love craft ales

Shop Now
    Hi all,

I'm new to primal eating, Iv'e had no problems giving up bread, potatoes, and carbs in general as Iv'e never consumed them massively anyway, but I do have a few vices these being:

Coffee

Dark Chocolate (80% cocoa and above)

Craft/Real Ales

Out of these I could probably pass up the coffee and the dark chocolate, but I absolutely adore my real ales, I don't drink them massively, maybe 1-2 pints of it a week in total, and I also very moderately consume red wine, but again this isn't a daily occurrence and by no means consistent. I'm only 24 so I'm hoping making these lifestyle changes early on in my life will still allow me the occasional vice but I have to confess I am still concerned about the negative effects these will have on my body and overall health/composition.

I suppose what I'm asking is, whether many primal eaters still consume some of the things Iv'e mentioned yet still see fantastic results or little difference to when they do not?

Thanks everyone

magnolia1973 is offline Senior Member
    I've started eating very occasional sweets- baked goods, and don't find that I have any negative impacts. Now alcohol does nasty things to me. Think days of bloat, reflux.....

I'd try and eat very clean primal for a month or two, then add in the occasional beer and see what it does. It may really have no effect on you, and may be something you enjoy. If you drink it and break out in hives and feel like crap, maybe you do need to avoid it. It does take some time to ferret out what you can and can't tolerate and it helps to start from a clean base so you aren't wondering if it was the pizza or the beer that has you feeling like crap.