Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: People with hypothyroid-- carb question! page

AMC
    AMC is offline Senior Member

People with hypothyroid-- carb question!

Hi all,

I'm new to Primal and to MDA, so i'm sorry if this topic has been beaten to death!

I just started Primal a few days ago. I am hypothyroid and have been on Armour for about 5 weeks. I've gained about 25 lbs over the past few years due to hypothyroid. My question is- what amount of carbs is a "safe" level to not affect the thyroid but still promote weight loss? Right now I'm starting out at about 120-150g, but I don't know if that's too low/too high. I kept my calories the same for now (maintain at about 2200, and just decreased the carbs and upped the fats)

I'm a 23 y.o female, active (5-6 days per week of moderate lifting/cardio),

Anyone with experience/wisdom? Thanks!

Neckhammer is online now Senior Member
    Carbs/low carb don't effect your actual thyroid gland one way or the other. I actually like low carb for people with hashimotos hypothyroid as it seems to work well with autoimmune problems. Carbs do however effect your conversion rate in the liver. So if you are suffering from liver dysfunction of some sort this could very well lead to hypo symptoms.

I guess the real question is at what point of the process are your thyroid hormones being encumbered? What kind of hypo are you?
    Last edited by Neckhammer; 04-19-2013 at 07:46 PM.

AMC
    OK thanks, I just took my temp and it is down significantly (after being low carb for only 3 days) so this is worrisome. Not sure if this is just a transition? Or if my thyroid is already getting worse?