Thread: Protein Shakes page

YorkshireMatt is offline Junior Member

Protein Shakes

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi All,

I'm new to the whole Primal thing (My book arrives tomorrow!) but looking forward to getting started!

I had a few questions which I was hoping some of you gym goers can help me with:

High quality whey protein, can I still take this? I work in an office so struggle to get regular breaks and the food on offer is typical english garbage, i.e sausage rolls, mayo laden sandwiches etc. I have 4 a day which is equivalent to just 20g of carbs and 100g of protein...

Creatine? I'm guessing this is fine considering it is a natural substance found in meat?

ZMA? Zinc magnesium and vit B6....2 caps before I got to bed, I assume that this is ok as it is natural again?

Tribulus? Basically a plant extract....I'm hoping this is ok too?

I'm currently a "no veg" guy, I hate the stuff, but have just bought a vitamix and I'm hoping green smoothies will help me as it tends to be the texture I don't seem to like.

Looking forward to sharing recipes with you guys!

Matt

peppermint is offline Member
    I've never been a fan of shakes, some people here have them, I prefer food-food, but what has been your experience with Tribulus? I just recently heard of it and was curious about whether it actually did anything. Do you really notice a difference with it?

jennf is offline Senior Member
    Not everyone likes the idea of protein shakes. I prefer to eat real, whole foods whenever I can, but during the week both my husband and I have super tight schedules and have protein shakes for breakfast.

Mine are made up of coconut milk, water, protein powder, spinach, 1/2 banana (or about 1/2 cup cooked sweet potato) and some cinnamon. Occasionally I'll add some raw cacao powder or a tbsp of raw almond butter. I drink that before 7am and it keeps me going until lunch with no problem. Hasn't caused me any issues with losing weight or leaning out, either.