Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dandruff, dryness and saborea page

Drlove is offline Senior Member

Dandruff, dryness and saborea

Primal Fuel
    Hey,

I'm 18 years old, and I've been having dandruff and dryness (and acne) for a very long while.
    While the Acne got a lot better (it's barely noticeable), the dryness in my face, and the extreme case of dandruff (a ton of small white flakes, and quite a few yellow huge flakes) got quite worse. It seems to come and go really, but lately it's more coming than going.

I believe I went to a doctor once about it, and he gave me some extremely chemical shampoo (I didn't like it, so I didn't really use it all that much). So I wanted to know what paleo says about that case, what can I do? it's extremely troubling.

Thanks in advance.

Crabbcakes is offline Senior Member
    I am no expert on dandruff, but I am getting amazing results from going shampoo-less ("no-poo") and washing my hair with baking soda and rinsing with apple cider vinegar. There are a number of threads on here about it. Before the no-poo, I had three different dandruff shampoos (with three different active ingredients) in the shower that I would switch between, if that tells you anything.

Also, I think that the different fatty acid profile of someone eating overwhelmingly Primal has a lot to do with this - my skin in general is much, much happier since I dropped the factory seed oils.
    I have a mantra that I have spouted for years... "If I eat right, I feel right. If I feel right, I exercise right. If I exercise right, I think right. If I think right, I eat right..." Phil-SC

namelesswonder is online now Senior Member
    If the shampoo had a selenium base, you likely have something fungal on your scalp. Using tea tree oil, Selsen Blue or supplementing with selenium can help with that. You could get it actually tested by a dermatologist, however.
    Journal on depression/anxiety
    Currently trying to figure out WTF to eat (for IBS-C).