Hi there!

So I've been lurking in the forums and reading others' journals for a few weeks now. I have never really participated in forum discussions like this or started an online journal before. I tend to be pretty timid on things like this (I know, its a weird thing, I get anxious like I'm posting things wrong, or I'm not being interesting ect). But for some reason, after reading some other journals I just felt like I needed to do this. I want to put myself out there. Even if no one else reads it, I'm sure the writing process will help me to trouble shoot what is working and what I need to improve. This is a big step for me. I tend to be an "observer"--I don't often throw myself in and participate too regularly (just in general in life). I would like to start making an effort to participate more...starting with this journal I guess.

A little about myself--I am a college student, Biology major with 3 more semesters to go (the end is in sight!). For the past couple months I have really been interested in and actively researching ways of eating more unprocessed and whole foods and living more simply and more naturally. I have gone through phases (short phases) of being vegetarian and at times vegan. I was never too successful for too long at these attempts. In my mind I had always considered veganism, or even raw food to be the "ideal" way to eat, but I have never had the self discipline to actually eat that way. I always just felt so deprived.