Thread: Post-PhD Get Fit: Project Mikki page

MikkiB is offline Senior Member

Cool Post-PhD Get Fit: Project Mikki

Primal Fuel
    Hi all, I was active on the forums a couple of years ago when I first went primal, but stopped posting in the last 2 years when I got too busy trying to finish school.

The backstory: I'm a 46-year old mother of 4 (now ages 17, 10, and 8 year old twins), married 13 years to my best friend I've worked as biostatistician at a transplant center for over 15 years, and in 2007 they agreed to support my dissertation work so I've been working full time and did a PhD dissertation in genomic statistics part time (along with all that mom, wife, and housework stuff) for 6 years. To make it even more fun, my husband was laid off last April. We made the best of it -- he took care of all the cooking, shopping, and household so I could completely focus on work and school, but it's been stressful. It paid off and I graduated this past December! I immediately collapsed and have spent about 4 weeks out of the last 12 sick as a dog (and the rest of the time taking care of other sick family members it seems), culminating in a drug-resistant throat infection for which I finally had to take levoflaxacin (which has, among other fun side effects, the potential for permanent peripheral nerve damage, neuropathy, and tendonitis/burst tendons). I just finished those yesterday. On the plus side, my husband found a job last month, and it's finally springtime Also in 3 years of gluten-free sort of primal eating, I reduced my C-reactive protein from over 12 to 2.5 (normal range).