Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Questions for Stronglifts People page

prufock is offline Member

Questions for Stronglifts People

Primal Fuel
    Hey, I've been doing the Stronglifts program for about 6 months now. I've currently double-stalled on everything but dead lifts and so moved to 3x5. My current level is:
    Squat 310
    Press 105
    Bench 160
    Row 180
    Dead Lift 315
    I do a little stretching, cardio, and ab/shoulder/upper back work at the end.

Couple of questions.

1. I've stalled once on dead lifts (just recently) and so I'm de-loading from 345 down to 315 for my next workout. What do you do when you stall twice on DLs? It's 1x5 right from the start, so there's no room to decrease sets. Should I increase sets but work up more gradually to my working set or what? Right now I do 2 warmups.

2. I'm planning to start a 12-week training program to run a 10 mile race in July. I've been meaning to do this for the past 4 years or so, but never actually get around to it. I used to run much more than I do these days (lately I don't do more than a mile or two at a time). I know the argument against "chronic cardio," but I want to do this as a challenge to myself (never run a 10 mile before).

My question on this is: how much might I expect my lifts to suffer? With running 3-4 days a week, the program only gives you 2 days a week (and a couple weeks only 1 day) for cross-training, which is when I plan to do my lifting. Granted, I'm not always diligent about making my three days a week, though most weeks I do. There is at least 1 day, some weeks 2 days for rest in this running scheme.

I expect to be ravenously hungry for those 12 weeks.