Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Calorie cycling? page

BklynGirl is offline Member

Calorie cycling?

Hi all,

I'm already at a healthy weight (137 lbs. at 5'6.5) and I'm in pretty good shape, but I still have fat to lose and I'm determined to do it. I tried a ketogenic diet and that worked very well for a week, then I plateaued for a week, then I stopped. I'll probably try it again soon to see if that will kickstart more losses, but in the mean time I want to try calorie cycling. Has anyone done it, and if so, any recommendations or tips? I have been doing a 16 hour IF about four times a week for a few months, but I feel I need to try something new. The one thing I'm afraid of is I have a roaring appetite, and I know the low-cal days will be really hard. Any suggestions for reducing appetite are also appreciated. I started taking green tea extract about five days ago, but so far I haven't noticed an effect.

picklepete is online now Senior Member
    Cycling seems to work for a lot of people. It's probably wise not to use the same schedule forever.

For me the best satiety hacks are coconut and bone soup (or both). They might seem calorie dense at first glance but they can really shut down my appetite for 12-20hr with even a small amount. Also the first hunger pang might be sodium/potassium so pickles or grape tomatoes can be handy.

Dragonfly is offline Senior Member
    Come join us over at the Alternate Day Fasting thread. It's really working for me to drop the last bit of fat.

And it's not a a full fast on the down days, just lower calories.

Ally415 is offline Senior Member
    I was doing calorie cycling, carb cycling, and IF for a few months together.

On my lower calorie days I remember yoghurt would help keep my hunger at bay. Eating higher fat those days should help prevent hunger. For some people, eating in a very short window on low calorie days helps them not to over eat.
    Keep yourself busy.