Thread: I think I've hit a wall in my quest to gain weight/build muscle page

dirk41 is offline Senior Member

I think I've hit a wall in my quest to gain weight/build muscle

Primal Fuel
    I've been paleo since May 2012 but in October 2012 I decided to finally start lifting weights. I'm 5'8" and the most I ever weighed pre-paleo was 155 pounds. When I started lifting weights in October, I weighed 140 pounds. I've steadily gained weight since that time. About 2 weeks ago, I weighed 160 pounds. During this time frame (Oct-Mar), I ate around 2600 calories a day.

Within the past month, I started using whey protein and upped my calories to around 2800 a day. I've been going to the gym pretty consistently 3 days a week (lifting according to a modified version of StrongLifts) but it seems like I've hit a wall. Weighing myself each morning the past 2 weeks, my weight has fluctuated between 158-161 pounds.

Is the obvious answer here to simply eat more? Or is there only so much weight I can gain? Again, I've been thin my whole life and even with a diet of junk food and soda I only maxed out at 155 pounds.

Darz is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by dirk41 View Post
    Is the obvious answer here to simply eat more?
    Yes.

jakejoh10 is offline Senior Member
    Yeah, you should start with upping the calories slowly until you are gaining weight consistently.

Also, you might want to reset on your training program if you're not making progress in the gym.

Jake
    My nutrition/fitness/critical thinking blog:

2ndChance is offline Senior Member
    Why are you trying to gain weight? Why can't you be happy the way you are? Maybe your body's trying to tell you it's happy at its current weight even though you aren't happy with it.

(former anorexic speaking, I remember all too well lamenting "I can't get to my goal of 125" when what I really needed was to love myself at 130)

quikky is offline Senior Member