Thread: How big was Grok? page

danhaych is offline Member

How big was Grok?

Primal Fuel
    I have a lot of curiosities about diet and nutrition as it's part of what I'm studying and its quite controversial for me to consider recommending this diet to people considering it is not taught as a healthy diet. I have yet to engage in a discussion with my peers on the subject as I don't feel I know enough yet.

May be a stupid question but how sure are we that Grok as you call him, was actually big and muscular? How can we know that just from bone fossils? For all we know Grok could have been a fatty? I naturally have trouble putting on weight so I cant really say going Primal has helped me with reduced fat mass.

Lumifer is offline Senior Member
    It's highly unlikely Grok looked like a contemporary bodybuilder ("big and muscular"). He was smaller than contemporary humans and lean and muscular. Look at pictures of hunter-gatherer tribes.

Grok was also preoccupied with staying alive. That probably involved fattening up during times of plenty and losing that weight when food was hard to find.

Kata is offline Senior Member
    We can determine how active and strong a person was by some features of the bones that develop during the person's lifetime in response to stress on the bones. A strong person's bones will be very dense and rigid, and the parts where lean tissue connects to the bones will be prominent. These features are very common in paleolithic bones. Lumifer is right, a lean build was probably more common than bulky one, but there would have been variations between groups in different climates as well as on an individual basis, just like how there are many different body types today.

Lewis is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by danhaych View Post