Thread: I guess I should say Hi! page

Salixisme is offline Member

I guess I should say Hi!

Hi!

Now that is over, I suppose I should also say a bit about me.

I am a 40something married mother of 4 girls (age 14, 12, 10 and 8). We live in Calgary Ab. with a big dog (a boxer) and a grumpy elderly male cat (he is the archetypal grumpy old man!).

I work full time as a massage therapist in a very busy pain management and soft tissue injury rehab clinic and absolutely LOVE my job as it gives me the opportunity to really make a difference in peoples lives - it is the best feeling in the world when I have been working on a patient and then they turn round at the end and say "you know what, my pain is gone!"

I dabbled with Paleo several years ago, and found it entirely too difficult to manage at the time so we gave up on it. Since then, we have been trying to follow a clean eating diet (albeit with with grains/carbs included), and it was working well, but the hubby (who is very overweight) was not loosing weight on it (I blame the late night snacks of several slices of toast!).

Then I found the Primal Blueprint, read it and decided that I at least would give it a go for myself at least. Now I don't need to loose masses of weight (at 5'8", I weigh 150lb and am well within the normal BMI for my height). But I could do with loosing a few lb, toning up one heck of a lot and generally getting fitter. Plus, I have always suspected that I have a slight gluten/grain intolerance as eating wheat/grains does make me feel bloated and sluggish. Add in a dairy allergy (I am very allergic to casein), and it seemed like a good idea to overhaul my diet, eat healthy and maybe do some exercise. I seriously need to do something about my abs - after having 4 children, they are virtually non-existent!