Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Not another omg look at my chol thread page

Jencossy is offline Member

Not another omg look at my chol thread

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Ok...have measured my lipids five weeks into primal. (Sorry I hav no baseline but am a relatively fit healthy 31yr old and am not overweight but have lost 8lbs on primal)

Cholesterol 216.14
    Trig 57.9
    HDL 57.9
    LDL 131.23

I'm a physician so I'm a little disturbed about my chol and LDL. Do I hold out and repeat after another few months? Should I be concerned? Am I doing the right thing?

eKatherine is offline Senior Member
    Your cholesterol level is nothing to be concerned about.

HEALTHY DIETS AND SCIENCE

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by eKatherine View Post
    Your cholesterol level is nothing to be concerned about.

HEALTHY DIETS AND SCIENCE
    Agreed. Cholesterol should not be considered high until it is over 250. For more, Google Chris Masterjohn + cholesterol.

Artbuc is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by yodiewan View Post
    Agreed. Cholesterol should not be considered high until it is over 250. For more, Google Chris Masterjohn + cholesterol.
    At what point would you take statins? What markers would you look at, eg trigs/ HDL-C ratio, and how bad would they have to be for you to take statins? If your TC>250, what should you do about it?

noodletoy is online now Senior Member
    a total number for cholesterol is meaningless. 250 is just as arbitrary as 150 or 450.
    As I ate the oysters with their strong taste of the sea and their faint metallic taste that the cold white wine washed away, leaving only the sea taste and the succulent texture, and as I drank their cold liquid from each shell and washed it down with the crisp taste of the wine, I lost the empty feeling and began to be happy and to make plans.

Ernest Hemingway

Jencossy is offline Member