Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginner level weight lifting ... what do you recommend? page

Cromap is offline Junior Member

Beginner level weight lifting ... what do you recommend?

Shop Now
    Hello. This is my first post so I thought I'd jump right in.

I am going to start incorporating lifting weights into my fitness routine. I am a beginner and 39 years old. I've been on the diet portion of the PB for about 3 months. After some setbacks and lackadaisical effort I am now on track. I've dropped from 216 to 203. My goal is a fit lean body. I originally thought I mainly needed just fat loss to look good but I'm not happy with my level of muscle either. So I am going to begin concentrating on the physical side of things now that I've got the eating side under control.

I have a fairly thick bone structure but honestly, I'm not sure if that's the right target weight for me. I was thinking about 175 when I began but now I'm not sure.

In my research I've found basically two good programs for beginners. Starting Strength and Strong Lifts. Anyone on here with any experience using these methods. I also have had 3 hernias in my life so I am concerned with that as well, I certainly don't want to injure myself.

Any recommendations on anything at all to do with the PB fitness methods or any advice on the two methods above would be appreciated.

Franklin's Dad is offline Junior Member
    IMO, StrongLifts 5x5 is the best beginner weightlifting program, and it's one that I used to get myself back into the gym. The key to any weightlifting -- and especially full-body lifts like Squats, Deadlifts, etc. -- is correct form. So make sure that when you do start with StrongLifts or Starting Strength that you really study the form (StrongLifts has tons of great videos) and begin with a light amount of weight, maybe even the bar only for Day 1.

You really won't believe the kind of transformation your body will undergo after starting StrongLifts.