Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: beginner here....weird question page

beginner here....weird question

Primal Fuel
    Hi there,

Do you guys cut the fat of the bacon strip before cooking it? I read on the forum that if you buy grain fed meat, you need to cut the fat and stuff.....i can't get grass fed here because it's really more expensive and I'm a student...

thanks for your help.

j3nn is offline Senior Member
    That wouldn't leave very much bacon if you cut the fat off. O_O bac-un
    | My (food) Blog | Follow me on Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter |

It does not take a majority to prevail, but rather an irate, tireless minority, keen on setting brushfires of freedom in the minds of men. - Samuel Adams

2ndChance is offline Senior Member
    I would personally advise you to eat half as much bacon but splurge on the grass-fed, or find a cheaper meat (beef, chicken). Or eat more eggs--organic eggs are only $4ish a dozen here. Animal products are only as healthy as the animal they came from. Grain-fed cows get e.coli, mistreated animals have high levels of stress leading to constant cortisol/adrenaline secretion which stores in their tissue, affects the immune system, etc. Of course, lots of people here don't think factory-farmed meat is bad for you. The decision is ultimately up to you.

Damiana is offline Senior Member
    Oh hell no. It's the best part. I wouldn't worry about it unless you're eating like 2 pounds of bacon a day. In which case, stop it.
    F 28/5'4/100 lbs

"I'm not a psychopath, I'm a high-functioning sociopath; do your research."

Chanda is offline Member
    No, you don't cut the fat off the bacon. You can find uncured bacon at Walmart. They have two brands, Hormel and something else, that I can't remember the name of right now. It might not be from grass-fed hogs, but at least the nitrite level is lower. Don't sweat the small stuff, just do the best you can with what you can find and afford.

Derpamix is offline Senior Member