Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on this Gary Taubes answer.. page

FrankOcean is offline Senior Member

Thoughts on this Gary Taubes answer..

So I was reading a Q&A with Gary Taubes and someone ask the following:

"I have been living on a low carb diet since being diagnosed with T2 diabetes 6 years ago. I have lost over 160 lbs and have the disease in very tight control with a usual A1c at 5% or close to it. I am still 30 lbs overweight at 5 ft tall & cannot lose any more no matter how low I cut carbs. I see no way around counting calories to lose these last pounds but my calorie needs are so low that I am intensly hungry all the time which is defeating me. What do you suggest"

Gary's answer.

"All I can do here is speculate, as I have no clinical experience treating people with carbohydrate-restricted diets, I'm just an investigative reporter with a somewhat obsessive interest in the subject. That said, between 1956 and 1972, the British physician Robert Kemp prescribed carbohydrate-restricted diets to almost 1,500 patients. He concluded that a small proportion, particularly the most obese and those who had been obese the longest, often failed to lose weight on the diets even though they faithfully followed them. It is possible that if you were heavy for a long time, your fat tissue has accumulated chronic damage and so you're just stuck with those 30 pounds, and little or nothing you can do will change that."

"Another possibility -- and this is really speculation, because as I've said I'm not a doctor -- is that the diet actually works best when it is a high calorie diet with a lot of fat. The idea is that we consciously or subconsciously try to restrict calories on the diet and so our body still thinks it's in starvation mode, even with the absence of carbohydrates, and holds on to the fat. I have no idea if this is the case -- it's the kind of thing that, in an ideal world, would be studied by obesity researchers."