Thread: Purchasing 2nd kettlebell-- same weight for doubles or go heavier? page

Dickson is offline Senior Member

Purchasing 2nd kettlebell-- same weight for doubles or go heavier?

Taking a break from barbells to work on mobility after an injury, I've switched to kettlebells/bodyweight exercises at home and am loving it. I bought a 35lb/16kg bell, and it's been great learning the movements.

I am self-taught (or taught via WKC on youtube), and can't yet do a snatch correctly. I'm also finding "upside down" kettlebell work pretty challenging, I can't hold it for very long. That said, swings with the 35lb aren't doing much for me in the terms of strength and I can strict press it probably 50+ times. I'm a pretty large male (6'3 235lbs), but still pretty raw in the terms of training.

Now though, I am considering buying a 2nd bell. The Play It Again Sports near me has great kettlebells at prices that are hard to beat, with no shipping. Bought the 35lb for $55.

I'm wondering, am I better off buying a heavier bell (20kg or 24kg?) or should I buy a 2nd 35lb bell to work on doubles? Sorry if it is a stupid/redundant question, I'm fairly new to kettlebells.

Thanks!

If you only have one bell, it's probably going to be light and bouncy for some exercises and possibly too heavy for others. That's just natural -- it doesn't mean you're doing anything wrong. For instance, in general (depending on how many reps of each we're talking about), I can swing heavier bells than I can press. I'd also use a heavier bell for something like a one-arm row than I'd use for a Turkish get-up. So I think it's worth having multiple sizes of kettlebells before investing in doubles of the same ones. You can get a hell of a kettlebell workout without doing doubles of anything.

I'm not sure what you mean by "upside down" kettlebell work... like when you hold the bell for a goblet squat?

Darwin17 is offline Senior Member