Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Replacing bench with Flies page

misterbulgarin is offline Junior Member

Replacing bench with Flies

Shop Now
    I do Stronglifts 5x5 (3x5 really, to cut time down). Ive done it for ages. I had a break from weight trainin last winter and started again in feb, only now am I back to heavy workweights, or more or less there!

I've always been weak on my bench: development wise my chest looks poor, unworked. I think my max bench was 70k (with poor form, see flared elbows :| ) , Since ive been back at weights, My workweight was 57-60k and it was really hard. I studied form and I just couldnt get it down, I felt like my arms were givin out before my chest, my chest didnt feel like it was getting hit.

Someone suggested I do Flies. So I tried flies on my last workout and it felt good, feels good to be doing something different too in regards to the chest. So I'll see how it goes from here on in. Im also doing pressups at the end of the bench workouts.

and i ALSO do minor Shovelglove work almost every day (doesnt affect recovery much)

Anyone else had troubles with benching?

rockstareddy is offline Senior Member
    I had trouble getting results on chest too, partly cos I am naturally quite skinny. I noticed some improvement when i spread my 5X5 over 3 different inclines (using free weight dumbells), so it became 2X5 on three different inclines (total 6X5).

But I am also considering seeing if flies give better results. Not sure whether to mix them in or cut out press completely?

Fury22 is offline Senior Member
    Replacing heavy compound movements with an isolation lift for better overall development?

Good idea.
    Check out my blog!

http://easternstrength.blogspot.com/

I like to throw, squat and pull heavy things for fun.