Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there a connection between conventional meats and acne? page

KG
    KG is offline Senior Member

Is there a connection between conventional meats and acne?

I've been mulling this over for a couple of months now, as I'm currently suffering from pretty severe acne, on my face especially.

I'm a teenager, currently 17 and started getting spots around the time I was 13 or so, which in terms of adolescence is a very common occurrence due to all the hormonal changes taking place, so I wasn't too worried.

However, those were regular spots, not actual acne. I can't remember exactly when I started having acne, but it's been persistent for about two years now and from what I've observed, it's not going to improve without medication. I tried Oxytetracycline tablets as my first medication years ago, and all my acne cleared up within weeks. Slowly, it started to reappear over the course of a few months, and after trying at least 6 months of Oxytetracycline and even 3 months of Limacycline, the acne just did not shift. I theorize that my body has adjusted to the antibiotics, and my dermatologist believes that that is the most likely explanation.

My acne started to get gradually worse once I made the full transition to being Primal. I believe that the reason for this may be because of the meats my parents purchase from a large, popular supermarket - Iceland. The meat has no distinct labels, and since the meat is the store's own brand, it's likely that the meat is very poor in quality.

Being conventional meat, and referencing to Mark's statement about toxins being stored within the fat cells (P120 in the book if you have it), do you believe that the toxins are perhaps causing inflammation and aggravating my acne, despite my diet being fine in all other areas? For the record, I have completely avoided dairy, which I've heard can be problematic.